New Cathaoirleach and Leas-Cathaoirleach of the Northern and Western Regional Assembly

Councillor John Naughten was elected as Cathaoirleach of the Northern and Western Regional Assembly (NWRA) at the Assembly’s AGM held in Roscommon on the 21st July.

Councillor Naughten is one of the two Roscommon members of the NWRA, the membership of the NWRA is drawn from elected members across the region’s local authorities (Galway City & County, Roscommon, Leitrim, Sligo, Donegal, Monaghan, Mayo and Cavan) in proportion to the population of each county.

On his election to the role, Councillor Naughten thanked the Assembly members for their support and stated he was looking forward to the year ahead, he also acknowledged the progressive work of the outgoing Cathaoirleach, Councillor David Collins from Galway.

The new Cathaoirleach acknowledged the challenges facing the region at this time and “the need for support to improve areas such as infrastructure and transportation”, he also referred to “the unique opportunities that the Northern and Western region offers as a place for people to live and thrive”.

Sligo Councillor Declan Bree was unanimously elected as Leas-Cathaoirleach of the Assembly for the next twelve months.

Congratulating the new Cathaoirleach and Leas-Cathaoirleach, acting Director of the Assembly, Denis Kelly thanked the members for their work during this exciting time for the NWRA as the regional body launches more schemes under the EU co-funded Northern and Western Regional Programme and continues with the implementation of the Regional Spatial and Economic Strategy for the region.